Levels of Health Care Referral System



There are 3 different levels of health care systems which are primary, secondary, and tertiary. In this post, you’ll get to know more about these health care systems. These referral systems are interlinked or interconnected to one another.


Primary Level of Care

  • Devolved to cities and municipalities
  • Usually the first contact between the community members and other levels of the health facility.
  • Center physicians, public health nurses, rural health midwives, traditional healers.

Secondary Level of Care

  • Given by physicians with basic health training.
  • Usually given in health facilities either privately owned or government-operated.
  • Infirmaries, municipal, district hospital, out-patient departments.
  • Rendered by specialists in health facilities.

Tertiary Level of Care

  • Referral system for the secondary care facilities.
  • Provided complicated cases and intensive care.
  • Medical centers, regional and provincial hospitals, and specialized hospitals.
Matt Vera is a registered nurse with a bachelor of science in nursing since 2009 and is currently working as a full-time writer and editor for Nurseslabs. During his time as a student, he knows how frustrating it is to cram on difficult nursing topics. Finding help online is nearly impossible. His situation drove his passion for helping student nurses by creating content and lectures that are easy to digest. Knowing how valuable nurses are in delivering quality healthcare but limited in number, he wants to educate and inspire nursing students. As a nurse educator since 2010, his goal in Nurseslabs is to simplify the learning process, break down complicated topics, help motivate learners, and look for unique ways of assisting students in mastering core nursing concepts effectively.
  • >